The Alberta Forest Genetic Resources Council

Council Structure, Operating Policy and Membership Structure

Council includes stakeholder representatives from several sectors of Alberta’s forest community. The number of members is not fixed, but will be usually be between 10 and 13.

Council representation will be as follows:

Government of Alberta:
Up to three members, appointed for a five year term:
* One representative from Alberta Environment and Sustainable Resource Development (ESRD) genetics programs;
* One representative from ESRD senior management, Forest Management Branch; and
* One representative of environmental interests.
* Representatives from academic and government research organisations provide expertise in forest genetics and forest policy; three members.

Up to four members, appointed for a five year term:
* Two representatives of hardwood interests; and
* Two representatives of softwood interests.

Research Institutions:
Two members, appointed for a five year term:
* These represent academic and government research organisations, and provide independent expertise in areas such as forest genetics, forest biology and forest policy.

Other (affiliation not fixed):
Two members, appointed for a five year term, in the fields of:
* Conservation biology; and
* Forest land reclamation.
Two members, appointed for a two year term, represent project-based interests, such as:
* Growth and yield; or
* Forest nurseries.

Operating Policy

Frequency of Meetings:
Council will meet three times each year. Additional meetings may be held as needed.
For the purpose of conducting official council business, quorum will be 50% of membership.
Meetings will be conducted according to Robert’s Rules of Order, 11th Edition, 2011 (
Council decisions will be made on the basis of a simple majority. Dissenting votes will be noted in the minutes.
Nomination and Appointment:
Council members are nominated by Council and appointed by the Executive Director of Forest Management Branch.
Members are nominated for either a two- or a five-year term, as noted in Structure (above). At the conclusion of the term, or in the event of a resignation, Council will provide nominations for the ensuing term, or for the balance of the term remaining. Terms will be staggered for each new appointment within the five year period, in the interests of maintaining continuity within Council.
The Chair is responsible for preparing agendas, convening of Council meetings and preparing Council reports.
Funding support necessary for the operation of Council will be provided by the Department of Environment and Sustainable Resource Development.
Subcommittees of Council will be formed as needed.
Agendas for upcoming council meetings will be produced by the Chair and distributed by e-mail approximately two weeks in advance of each meeting. Agendas may be made available to interested persons, at the discretion of Council members.
Council will produce minutes of each meeting. Minutes are circulated to Council members and may be made available to interested persons, at the discretion of Council members. Minutes are not confidential. Members may request confidentiality for some discussions; confidential discussions will not be included in the minutes.
Council will produce an report highlighting activities and major accomplishments. Additional reports will be produced at the discretion of Council. Council will, with the support of the Department, maintain a website ( and will periodically post and update information and reports on the website.
Observers are welcome to attend portions of Council meetings, with the consent of Council.
A member unable to attend a Council meeting may, at his/her discretion, nominate an alternate member and advise Council.
Members missing more than two consecutive meetings without confirming an alternate will be removed from Council.

Council Membership 2015-2016

Research Institutions
Andreas Hamann, University of Alberta
Richard Krygier, Canadian Forest Service
Barb Thomas, University of Alberta

Government of Alberta
Brett Purdy, Alberta Innovates – Energy and Environment Solutions
Deogratias Rweyongeza, Alberta Agriculture and Forestry – Forest Management Branch
Yuqing Yang, Alberta Agriculture and Forestry – Forest Management Branch
Lee Charleson, Alberta Agriculture and Forestry – Alberta Tree Improvement & Seed Centre

Industry Sector
Sally John, HASOC (softwood)
Terry Kristoff, West Fraser (softwood)
Fred Radersma, Ainsworth Engineering Canada Ltd. (hardwood)
Bob Winship Weyerhaeuser (hardwood)

Non-Fibre Interests
Rob Vassov Shell, (forest land reclamation)
Dan McCurdy, Bonnyville Forest Nursery (forest nurseries)
Phil Comeau, University of Alberta (growth and yield)

Biological Diversity Representative
Scott Nielson, University of Alberta

Richard Laing

Council Secretariat
Tammy De Costa, Alberta Agriculture and Forestry – Alberta Tree Improvement & Seed Centre
Pearl Gutknecht, Alberta Agriculture and Forestry – Alberta Tree Improvement & Seed Centre